Dixon Hill – “Holodeck Beats: Program 3” (Album)

Las Vegas producer Dixon Hill’s new instrumental album, ‘Holodeck Beats: Program 3,’ beautifully captures the feeling of isolation while also being a treasure trove of head-nodding beats. Hill’s humility as an artist is admirable, especially at a time when ego-tripping is at an all time high. But he’d probably be the first one to tell you otherwise, because he’s simply interested in creating and sharing music that he hopes his audience will connect with. It’s a mindset he’s had since he started playing music in his teens, and he continues it today after pushing through hardships (he lived in his car for a time) and working with his heroes such as Guilty Simpson on their ’19 released collab LP,  Actus Reus. And with Holodeck Beats: Program 3, Hill is continuing an instrumental series that just gets better with each release. There’s just so much to love and dig into with Program 3, and it’s only the first bit of new material we can expect from Hill this year. As he tells us, he’s working on two collaborative albums—one with AG of DITC, the other with Noveliss of Clear Soul Forces—and he has plans to dip into other music genres. Until then, immerse yourself in the sounds of “Holodeck Beats: Program 3” which is available now via Fat Beats.

Son of Tony – “Son On A Sunday” (Album Review)

Son of Tony is a Buffalo-born MC. Over the past few years, he’s released a series of projects, including “The Son and His Father Tape 2” and “Tshaft3 Sunset”. To kick the new year off, he’s dropped a brand new album, “Son on a Sunday”. With features from industry titans like Skyzoo and Mickey Factz, will Tony be able to make his best album yet?

What separates Son of Tony from most rappers in the underground scene is his relentless demeanor. From the banging intro “Energy” to the climactic outro “Iron Heart,” the passion in his vocals nearly force you to love him. Rounding out his stylistic grit, the Buffalo spitters songwriting is both passionate and relevant to the current issues millions face today. Whether it’s the prideful “All Mine” or the traumatizing “Fore Thought,” the knowledge embedded in these stories truly deems Tony the title of street prophet. Out of all these moments, “Wet Stones” with Tish Hyman I found to be one of the most memorable of the group with its memorable hook and lighter-toned themes. On the note of collaborations, Son’s guests keep this experience every changing and exciting, which is emphasized by Mickey Factz on “Comicon,” Ren Thomas on “Zoo,” and especially the legendary New York MC Skyzoo on the projects ultimate highpoint, “Snd”. Overall, the show-stealing features and Son of Tony’s well-equipped skillset set this record apart from 95% of his rivals. 

Behind the boards, theres a soundtrack that embodies both the fierce and glamourous sides of hip hop. Best seen on “Comicon,” the beautiful vocal sample is chopped up and tampered by with an array of effects to create something much more haunting than any of Tony’s older material. On top of this, the soundtrack is rounded out with other standouts like the piano-based “No Mercy” and hard-hitting “Iron Heart”. While none of these tracks are doing anything to break the sonic boundaries hip hop has been stuck in recently, each beat spices things up with an interesting sample choice. On top of all this, the soundscapes’ best quality is that it masterfully matches the skilled MC’s gifted demeanor holding this entire journey together, which is certainly a pro. Going down the line, each one of these moments can be broken down for the sonic beauty they withhold, but with the knowledge of their core, each instrumental twist and turn will be more enjoyable when listening. 

In conclusion, “Son on a Sunday” is hands down Son of Tony’s magnum opus, and it may just be the best underground record of 2020. His lyricism is super refined, and between his potent songwriting and well-fitted production job, there’s so much to enjoy here. As Buffalo continues to grow into rap’s new hot zone, I’m sure Son of Tony will get the recognition or being one of the top guys in the entire city!

Rating: 9/10

Highlights: Lyricsm, Subject Matter, Production

Destruct – “Dreamstate” (Album)

Starting off the new year right, Rising Los Angeles, CA based emcee Destruct is campaigning his latest 13-track album titled “Dreamstate“, featuring Gajah, Silvandgold, Deltron Blac and more! This project is also available on Bandcamp.  Make sure to follow him on Instagram @destructmusic.

Suave The Don Shares Suspenseful “Stories of the Hood” Visual

New York recording artist Suave The Don enlists the eye of Jack Trvdes & Haddawi to release his latest visual for his new song, titled, “Stories Of The Hood.” In the new visual, over the Twan instrumental Suave The Don shows out for his widespread notoriety with expensive designer fabrics and diamonds dancing everywhere. The new song is arguable Suave The Don’s best work yet. A jump-on point for any newfound fan.

The song was inspired by the streets consistently retelling the usual story of friends becoming enemies in a matter of time. Suave states: “Beefing with the same kids you grew up with is the story of every hood.”

“Stories of the Hood” follows Suave’s 2019 Matter of Grind album which spawned “Understand Me” and “SLumped Anthem.” Originally bursting onto the scene in 20115 and made his run in 2017 with a string of buzzing tracks, like “Like That,” “Heat,” “Live From The 5” and “I Think I Might,” Suave The Don is best known for his breakthrough album called Know the Vibes. Suave’s latest release is the lead to his anticipated new album coming mid-2021.

After the stream below, For more on Suave The Don, follow him daily on Instagram and Twitter.

“Stories of the Hood” is available now via 510 Music Group, a subsidiary of EMPIRE. Watch it below and stream it here.

Ronny Kash – “It’s Up”

San Antonio rapper Ronny Kash may be unfamiliar to most, but he has been bubbling below the radar since 2017 with his magnetic music, popular demeanor and southern lyricism. Today, the rising star continues to infect the masses with the release of his latest single, titled, “It’s Up.”

Produced by Qari Beatz, the new song shows the rising star perfecting his signature sound which combines gritty trap beats, lifestyle lyrics, and hypnotic cadences. The new effort is the direct follow-up to Kash’s 2020 single, “Fabo.” To-date, Kash has accumulated over 16,000 monthly listeners on Spotify and expected to release his new music 2021 with a promised new album, currently untitled, and a follow-up to his breakout 2019 album, K.R.E.A.M..

As Texas hip-hop continues to establish a new resurgence in today’s music, Kash’s popularity arrives perfectly and perfect for newfound fans to jump on the bandwagon, today, starting with “It’s Up.” Recently, Kash released a project, titled, Snack Pack Vol. 1, available via Soundcloud. Kash’s next project will be released on Southwest Digital.

After the listen, for more on Ronny Kash, follow the thriving artist on Instagram for daily updates. A visual for “It’s Up” is currently in the works and slated for the coming weeks. Available on all DSPs via Sound of Live Entertainment.

Jamal Gasol- “This Rap Shit Is Wrestling (Video Premiere)

Jamal Gasol teamed up with UGHHBLOG to release his latest video for the track “This Rap Shit Is Wrestling off the project “The World is Piff 2.5.” The video is animated by Dead Fucking Hippie and Produced by The Standouts. On this track Gasol relates the real and his perception on the game.

Peep Jamal Gasol’s latest release, “The Ghost of Fritz” below: