Mumblz – “Beats From The Crypt” (Tape Review)

Many times it takes a lot for us to review a beat tape since so many these days are making the same 808 type beats on Fruity Loops.  Seems like anybody can be a producer these days with software and a laptop.  But thank GOD there is a breath of fresh air with one of a kind projects like “Beats From The Crypt” by Rochester’s very own Mumblz. The title of the project and artwork immediately caught my attention since I’m a huge fam or dar and grimy beats, always bumping beats from Necro, Doom, and Daringer. Halloween came early this year!

Uploaded exclusively on Rudy Williams T.V., every beat on this tape is fully produced by Mumblz on the SP-404 and recorded live. I will be highlighting a few beats off this project, and then will leave it up to the fans to consume the rest.  After listening to all 10-tracks, it’s kinda hard to find highlights since all the beats are straight bangers. Let’s highlight “Never Again”, the follow up to the intro. This beat screams GRISELDA!!! Literally one of those dudes will eat this beat up. The stings sample along with those snares and drums takes be back to the days when producers kept it authentic.  Mumblz slows down the tempo a bit with “Bodies”. I literally envision a serial killer getting revenge on all who betrayed him, burying them in a place where nobody could find his victims. With “Mummy Walk”, for some reason I hear an emcee like Conway The Machine all over this type of beat. The “Mumblz Theme”, is probably the darkest beat off the project, perfectly in line for placement in horror movies. It’s a short beat giving us a glimpse of the talented producers creative process.

I’m shocked this is Mumblz debut project since he’s been in the scene for well over 2 decades. His foundation as a DJ in the early 2000’s I feel gives him the upper edge in knowing what die hard Hip Hop heads want to hear.  Be on the lookout with future works with names like Romez, ETO, Riggz, Rudy Will, and many more rising emcees. I score their project a 9/10, a rating a rarely give only to those that represent that true Hip Hop.

Below is the track list and time stamps to reference “Beats From The Crypt“.

1. Enter the Crypt – 00:00
2. Never again – 00:36
3. Assassins – 02:13
4. Same dam Lo – 03:25
5. Bodies – 05:18
6. Never come close – 06:27
7. Mummy walk – 08:00
8. Mumblz theme – 09:24
9. Poof – 10:48
10. The Truth – 12:02